Instructors and Training Centre Staff

All our instructors are trained to RYA standards and properly qualified to deliver sailing and powerboat courses which cover the requirements of the RYA.

Assistant Instructors and Dinghy Instructors are always supervised by a Senior Instructor whenever courses are being delivered and the whole team is managed by our Principal.

If you see us around the club, please have a chat about any training you are interested in or email

Chief Instructor (Dinghy and Keelboat):  Matt French
Chief Instructor (Windsurf): Jonathan Powell
Chief Instructor (Powerboat): Mark Boyes

Senior Instructors: Nathanael Warwicker, Jon Sweet, Andy Baldock, Russell Taylor, Nigel Morse and Holly Dabson
Dinghy Instructors: Reece Webb, Jonathan Powell, Isobel Powell, Megan Smith, Danny Faulkner, Peter Lewis
Powerboat Instructors: Mark Boyes, Abby Aldridge, Ian Fairclough, Russell Taylor, Ali Butler-Baines, Andrew Lawman, Nigel Morse
Windsurf Instructors: Jonathan Powell
Race Coaches: Peter Saxton, Holly Dabson, Matt French



Further notes that apply to all courses

  • Courses are only available to club members, but we have a special three-month membership package available only for new members who book a training course.
  • We provide buoyancy aids but you will need to bring suitable clothing; details are available via the Joining Information link on the booking page of the website
  • Courses will take place if there is sufficient demand.
  • Gift vouchers are available for both course fees and membership subscriptions. Please enquire by emailing the office or by telephone (01480 810478).