Sunday Series Racing

Sunday club racing takes place weekly throughout the year (except when the water is closed). The races are organised in series (blocks of races) that run typically for three months.

On Sunday mornings, two races are offered, with multiple starts in each race, for:

1 All-comers Slow (1001or higher) handicap fleet.
2 D-Zero
3 Flying Fifteen
4 Laser (including Radial)
5 Multihull boats and all-comers fast handicap (1000 or lower). Catamarans with asymmetric spinnaker rigs can opt to sail the Windward-Leeward course using this start.
6 Monohull dinghies with asymmetric spinnaker rigs.

Note that: this sequence is experimental for the Autumn 2018 series starting on 5th August, with the slow handicap fleet being the first start and all other fleets moving back 2 minutes in the same order.

On normal Sunday afternoons, there are two handicap races, with three fleet starts in each. These comprise:

1 Fast Handicap 1000 and below and Asymmetric Monohull below 1100
2 Slow two handed handicap 1001 and above and Asymmetric Monohull 1100 and above
3 Slow single handed handicap 1001 and above

On specific Sunday afternoons there will be special events, as follows:

6th May – RNLI Pursuit Race

3rd June – Past Masters Trophy: Notice of Race

Further details of start times and race organisation for the current series are published in the Notices of Race and in the Sailing Instructions.

Click through to view racing handicaps in use at Grafham.

Between November and February, three races are scheduled, sailed ‘back-to-back’. (Competitors remain in the starting area after completion of the first two races and the next race begins as soon as possible after the last competitor has completed the course). All racing is started and finished in the vicinity of a Committee Boat, from which the racing is controlled.

Click through for the latest Club Series results and a report of the RNLI Pursuit Race held on Sunday 6th May 2018.